Cycling tech and gear deals, without the noiseFree · Tuesday and Friday
Pedal Brief. Subscribe

Home / Guides / Best indoor cycling apps for winter

Trainers

Best indoor cycling apps for winter: Zwift and its alternatives compared

Zwift, Rouvy, TrainerRoad, MyWhoosh, Wahoo SYSTM, TrainingPeaks Virtual, Kinomap and FulGaz: prices from each pricing page, trials, devices and who supports Zwift Click shifting.

At a glance

Who it's for: smart trainer owners choosing the best indoor training platform for winter (structured workouts, racing, real-road video or free), including riders looking for Zwift alternatives that work with a Zwift Cog and Click.

There is no single best indoor cycling app. The seven platforms most riders compare (Zwift, Rouvy, TrainerRoad, MyWhoosh, Wahoo SYSTM, TrainingPeaks Virtual and Kinomap) are built for different jobs and differ on price, devices and virtual shifting. Picking one mostly comes down to what you want to stare at for an hour: a game world, a filmed road or a power graph. We added FulGaz because it is a real-video platform in the same group as Rouvy. BKool is gone (bkool.com redirects to rouvy.com), and indieVelo is now TrainingPeaks Virtual.

Prices at a glance (US pricing pages, 4 October 2026)

Platform Monthly Annual Free tier or trial Card for the trial
Zwift $19.99 +tax $199.99 +tax ("$16.67 /mo") 14-day trial on monthly only Billing details at setup
Rouvy (Single) USD 19.99 USD 179.99 ("USD 15 per month") 7-day trial, then a limited free account Credit card to set up an account
TrainerRoad $21.99 USD $209.99 USD ("$17.45 USD / month") No trial shown; 30-day money-back guarantee Not applicable
MyWhoosh Free Free Free-to-play; optional subscription for extra workout slots Not applicable
Wahoo SYSTM (Wahoo App Pro) $17.99 $179.99 (USD before tax) 14 days of full Pro access Not stated
TrainingPeaks Virtual (TrainingPeaks Premium) $19.95 $134.99 ("$11.25 /Month") 14-day Premium trial Not stated
Kinomap $11.99 (11,99€) $89.99 (89,99€) 14-day trial, starts with your first session Not stated
FulGaz US$14.99 US$125.99 ("US$10.50 per month") 14 days free No card needed (FulGaz)

Conditions that go with those numbers:

Zwift's UK and EU pricing pages also showed US dollars to our US connection, so we have no pound or euro prices for Zwift.

Comparison: devices and virtual shifting

Platform Platforms (brand's list) Trainer connections (brand's wording) Zwift Click / Cog virtual shifting Own virtual shifting
Zwift PC, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV ANT+, Bluetooth, LAN via Wi-Fi or Ethernet, Companion app bridge Yes (trainer on Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) Zwift's own system
Rouvy Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, iPad, Apple TV Bluetooth, ANT+, Wi-Fi Yes, Click V1 and V2; not Zwift Play Yes, plus on-screen and Companion App controls
TrainerRoad iOS, Android, Windows, macOS Bluetooth Smart, ANT+ FE-C Not stated Not stated
MyWhoosh Windows, macOS, iOS/iPadOS, Android, Apple TV 4K (2nd gen, 2021) and newer Bluetooth 4.0+ (Windows spec); trainer protocols not listed Not stated by MyWhoosh MyShift, 30 virtual gears
Wahoo SYSTM Mac, Windows, iOS, Android Bluetooth or ANT+ No (per Wahoo) Not stated for the app
TrainingPeaks Virtual Windows 10 64-bit, macOS 11, mobile, Apple TV (beta) Bluetooth FTMS, Wahoo, Tacx, ANT+, Direct Connect WiFi No (per TrainingPeaks) Virtual gearing
Kinomap Phone and tablet (iOS, Android), Apple TV (lighter version) Bluetooth FTMS; ANT+ on Android with a chipset or dongle Not stated Not stated
FulGaz Mac, Windows, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Android Bluetooth only; no ANT+ No (on hold, per FulGaz) Not stated

For trainer choice first, see our smart trainer buying guide and the Zwift Cog compatible trainers list.

Zwift: racing, group rides and game worlds

Zwift's pricing page lists "All virtual worlds, routes & events" and "Access on PC, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV". Its support says: "To start a paid membership, you'll enter billing details during setup."

Virtual shifting is Zwift's own system. Zwift: "Zwift Ready trainers include a pre-installed Zwift Cog and Zwift Click and support Zwift's virtual shifting." Its pairing article adds: "To use virtual shifting, your trainer must connect over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth (not ANT+). ANT+ can still be used for standard trainer control."

Rouvy: real-route video, now owned by Zwift

Rouvy is built around filmed real roads. Zwift announced on 29 April 2026 that it had completed the acquisition of Rouvy and that Zwift Ready trainers and Zwift Ride smart frames now work with Rouvy. Zwift: "Both Zwift and ROUVY will continue to operate independently, with differentiated roadmaps and subscription packages."

Rouvy: "ROUVY is fully compatible with both versions of Zwift Click (V1 and V2). However, Zwift Play is not supported." Its virtual shifting FAQ lists trainers from Wahoo, Elite, Tacx (Neo 3M), JetBlack and Van Rysel. After the trial, the free account allows "20 km / month". On payment: "Yes, all you need is an indoor trainer, an internet connection and a credit card to set up an account."

BKool. Rouvy bought BKool, closed its app and stopped new sign-ups. Two Rouvy pages give different dates. Rouvy's support article: "The BKOOL app was retired on 30 November 2025." Rouvy's BKool page: "The BKOOL indoor cycling app was retired in March 2026."

TrainerRoad: structured, adaptive training

TrainerRoad sells training plans, not a virtual world: "Structured cycling training available for iOS, Android, Windows, and macOS." Instead of a free trial it shows "30-day money-back guarantee. Cancel anytime." It says its workouts can also run inside Zwift.

On trainers: "If you see that a trainer or other device is marked as "Bluetooth Smart" or "ANT+ FE-C", it should be compatible with TrainerRoad." In ERG mode, TrainerRoad says, the app sets resistance and there is no need to shift. We found no TrainerRoad statement on virtual shifting or Zwift Click support.

MyWhoosh: free, with racing and its own shifting

MyWhoosh: "No. Currently, MyWhoosh is a free-to-play cycling app." A separate page: "A subscription increases your available slot credits, allowing you to create more custom workouts and training plans." We found no price for that subscription.

MyShift is MyWhoosh's own virtual shifting: "There are 30 virtual gears to choose from in MyShift." And: "MyShift is compatible with all single-cog trainers, which are trainers that come with only one gear." A speed-sensor mode allows free riding without a smart trainer. MyWhoosh does not name the Zwift Click on the pages we checked; its 5.8.0 notes mention better connectivity for BikeControl, a separate third-party app, on Windows.

Wahoo SYSTM: video workouts and cross-training

SYSTM is now part of the Wahoo App's Pro tier. Wahoo: "Pro, at $17.99 a month or $179.99 a year, USD before tax. The Core tier covers metrics and route simulation in the Wahoo App but does not include SYSTM." It covers cycling, running, strength, yoga and swimming, and "SYSTM controls any standard smart trainer over Bluetooth or ANT+ and pairs with third-party heart rate monitors and power meters." Platforms: "SYSTM is available for Mac, Windows, iOS and Android."

Wahoo's virtual shifting article: "Virtual shifting with Zwift controllers is currently not available with other ride simulation apps." That leaves Zwift and Rouvy; for the KICKR CORE 2, Wahoo lists firmware "2.2.44 or 3.2.44 or later". Wahoo's smart bikes have their own system: "No, unlike simulated shifting available on the KICKR BIKE or KICKR BIKE SHIFT, the 24 "gears" of virtual shifting are configured as a linear progression without the option for customization." For cassette riders, Wahoo adds: "You can use virtual shifting with a cassette, and ensure you are able to use physical shifting with level mode in other apps like SYSTM." The CORE 2 is covered in our KICKR CORE 2 vs Van Rysel D500 guide.

Trial wording differs. Wahoo's app FAQ: "Yes, 14 days with full Pro access regardless of which tier you sign up for." The SYSTM page's own FAQ agrees: "The 14-day free trial includes full Pro access, so you can try SYSTM before committing." But the button on that same page reads: "14 day free trial, then $4.99/month. Cancel anytime." That is the Core price, and Core does not include SYSTM. Check which tier you are on before the trial ends.

TrainingPeaks Virtual: for TrainingPeaks users

TrainingPeaks bought indieVelo in October 2024 and renamed it TrainingPeaks Virtual. "TrainingPeaks Virtual is included with any TrainingPeaks Premium subscription." Premium has a 14-day free trial. Features include group rides, races, drafting and GPXplore for loading your own course.

Devices: "TrainingPeaks Virtual is compatible with a wide range of trainers and devices, including: Bluetooth FTMS, Wahoo, Tacx, ANT+, and Direct Connect WiFi." It runs on Windows 10 64-bit, macOS 11 or later, mobile devices (3.5 GB RAM recommended) and, as a beta, Apple TV.

Its own virtual gearing: "This control acts as a virtual cassette, allowing you to increase/decrease the resistance as you ride without shifting physical gears." On Zwift hardware: "Please note, Zwift controllers are not compatible devices as they are proprietary to Zwift." It does support BikeControl for gamepads, handlebar controllers and smart-bike buttons.

Kinomap: real video on a budget, for more than bikes

Kinomap covers bikes, treadmills, ellipticals and rowers, and says it has more than 40,000 real-life training videos. It runs on phones and tablets, with an Android APK for devices without Google Play. Its Apple TV app is scenic videos only, with limited equipment and no extra sensors.

Kinomap says any equipment using the Bluetooth FTMS protocol is automatically compatible. ANT+ works on Android with a built-in chipset or a dongle plus ANT+ services. We found no Kinomap statement on virtual shifting or Zwift Click support.

FulGaz: real video, same group as Rouvy

FulGaz lists "2,000+ real world rides from over 60 countries, created by real people". Rouvy's press page: "ROUVY is part of The ROUVY Group, which includes the ROUVY and FulGaz platforms." FulGaz's changelog: "Yes, Zwift has acquired ROUVY and FulGaz comes with it."

Two limits: "Note: FulGaz no longer supports ANT+ connectivity on any platform." And on Zwift hardware support, FulGaz's 21 August 2026 update: "Even so we've made the call to put it on hold for now."

Which one fits

What we could not confirm

Related on Pedal Brief

Sources

All checked 4 October 2026 (Europe/Copenhagen), from a US connection.

Disclosure: Pedal Brief may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This version has no affiliate links. We have not tested these apps. Every price, trial term and compatibility claim below comes from the platform's own pricing, product or support pages, checked on 4 October 2026 (Europe/Copenhagen). Prices are what a US visitor saw: we loaded each pricing page in a real browser from a US connection. Full disclosures.