Cycling tech and gear deals, without the noiseFree · Tuesday and Friday
Pedal Brief. Subscribe

Home / Guides / Tacx FLUX 2 vs Wahoo KICKR CORE 2

Trainers

Tacx FLUX 2 vs Wahoo KICKR CORE 2: which smart trainer fits you

Tacx FLUX 2 vs Wahoo KICKR CORE 2: brand US prices, what is in the box, cassette fit and Zwift virtual shifting.

At a glance

Short answer: Get the Wahoo KICKR CORE 2 ($549.99) if you want a trainer that works the day it arrives, or Zwift's virtual shifting. Get the Tacx FLUX 2 ($499.99 on sale at Garmin, normally $699.99) if you want the lower price and the bigger power claim, and you don't mind buying a cassette for it.

Who it's for: riders choosing their first direct-drive smart trainer at around $500.

The quick comparison

Both are direct-drive trainers: your rear wheel comes off and the bike sits on the trainer's own cassette or cog.

Tacx FLUX 2 Wahoo KICKR CORE 2
US price (brand store, 27 Oct) $499.99 sale, list $699.99 $549.99
Comes with No cassette 11-speed cassette, or Zwift Cog and Click (same price)
Max power 2000 W 1800 W
Max climb 16% 16%
Max descent Not stated -10%
Power accuracy Within 2.5% +/- 2%
Flywheel 7.6 kg 5.4 kg (Zwift store)
Trainer weight 23.6 kg 13.6 kg (Wahoo product page)
Max rider weight Not stated 113 kg (Wahoo)
Connections ANT+ FE-C, Bluetooth Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, ANT+ FE-C
Zwift virtual shifting Not on Zwift's Cog list Yes, with the Cog version
Warranty shown Not on the product page 1 year (Wahoo)

"Power accuracy" is how close the trainer's own wattage reading should be to the real figure. ANT+ FE-C and Bluetooth are the two ways apps and bike computers talk to and control a trainer.

Price and what you actually pay

Tacx FLUX 2. Garmin's US store showed $499.99, marked SALE, against $699.99 ("Save $200.00 USD"), with the line "Note: Cassette not included". So the real spend is $499.99 plus a cassette that matches your bike. The box has room for one; it just doesn't have one.

KICKR CORE 2. Wahoo sells two versions at $549.99: with an 11-speed cassette (11-28) and with Zwift Cog and Click. Zwift's US store also sells the Cog version at $549.99, plus a "$40 shipping charge applied at checkout".

What's in the box

Tacx FLUX 2 (Garmin product page and manual) KICKR CORE 2 (Wahoo product pages)
Trainer and front legs, bolts, washers, 8 mm hex key Trainer and legs (some assembly required)
Shimano/SRAM cassette body (the part the cassette slides onto) Either an 11-28 cassette plus 1.8 mm spacer, or a fitted Zwift Cog plus a Zwift Click shifter
Cassette spacer ring AC power adapter
Quick-release skewer and 135 mm end cap Quick-release adapters for 130 and 135 mm hubs
12 x 142 and 12 x 148 mm thru-axle end caps 12 x 142 and 12 x 148 mm thru-axle adapters
Power cable, 1-month Tacx Premium software

Will it fit your bike?

Axles. Both take quick-release hubs (130 or 135 mm) and 12 x 142 or 12 x 148 mm thru-axles out of the box.

Cassettes. The FLUX 2's standard body takes 8 to 12-speed Shimano and SRAM cassettes made for a standard Shimano-style body, per Garmin's manual and support page. For other cassettes Garmin sells swap-in bodies at $129.99 each, and each one lists the FLUX 2 as compatible:

The CORE 2 takes Shimano HG cassettes as it comes, with replaceable bodies for SRAM XD/XDR and Campagnolo. Wahoo says it is "not compatible with Shimano Micro Spline" and that its stock cassette doesn't suit Shimano CUES or LinkGlide drivetrains.

Zwift and virtual shifting

Virtual shifting means one fixed cog on the trainer, with gear changes done in software from a small handlebar remote (Zwift Click).

Zwift's compatibility list names the KICKR CORE 2 both as a Zwift Ready trainer (sold with Cog and Click) and as Cog Compatible. The Tacx FLUX 2 is on neither list. Garmin still names Zwift and TrainerRoad as apps the FLUX 2 works with; you just shift with your bike's own gears.

Which one fits you

Related on Pedal Brief

Sources and notes

Where the sources disagree

What we could not confirm

Sources

All checked 27 October 2026 (Europe/Copenhagen).

Disclosure: Pedal Brief may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This version has no affiliate links. We have not tested these trainers. Every price and spec below comes from the brand's own store, product page, support page or owner's manual, is linked, and was checked on 27 October 2026 in US dollars. Full disclosures.