Home / Guides / Zwift Ride vs Wahoo KICKR BIKE SHIFT
Zwift Ride vs Wahoo KICKR BIKE SHIFT: smart frame plus trainer, or one smart bike
Zwift Ride V2 with KICKR CORE 2 vs Wahoo KICKR BIKE SHIFT: US prices and shipping, power, grade, shifting, fit and who each fits.
At a glance
Who it's for: riders who want an always-set-up indoor bike instead of a road bike on a trainer, and are choosing between Zwift's modular Zwift Ride and Wahoo's all-in-one KICKR BIKE SHIFT.
The short answer
The Zwift Ride is a Smart Frame (frame, handlebar controllers, single-speed chain) that mounts on a separate direct-drive trainer, sold as a bundle with a Wahoo KICKR CORE 2. The KICKR BIKE SHIFT is one machine with its own resistance unit, belt drive and shifters.
On 5 October 2026, Zwift's US store listed Zwift Ride with KICKR CORE 2 at $1,299.99 plus a "$75 shipping charge applied at checkout"; Wahoo listed the same bundle at $1,299.99. Wahoo listed the KICKR BIKE SHIFT at $1,999.99, "Expected to ship in mid October", plus $150 truck shipping. Delivered, before tax: $1,374.99 vs $2,149.99. Zwift's store showed a "Sale" badge on the Ride and the Smart Frame, but the listed prices were still $1,299.99 and $799.99 (not the $999.99 Ride price seen on 29 September).
For the extra $775, the SHIFT lists 2200 W vs 1800 W, 20% / -15% simulated grade vs 16%, ±1% vs ±2% accuracy, and shifting you can configure to mimic Shimano, SRAM or Campagnolo. The Zwift Ride costs less, lists a smaller footprint (Wahoo's SHIFT figure is fully extended), and its frame can move to another compatible trainer. Neither lists physical tilt.
Spec sheet, side by side
As displayed on 5 October 2026. Where sources differ, see below.
| Spec | Zwift Ride V2 with KICKR CORE 2 | Wahoo KICKR BIKE SHIFT |
|---|---|---|
| US price shown | $1,299.99 (Zwift and Wahoo) | $1,999.99 (Wahoo) |
| US shipping | $75 | $150, LTL truck, contiguous US only |
| Resistance | Electromagnetic; 5.4 kg flywheel | Electronic / electromagnetic brake (Wahoo uses both terms); belt drive |
| Max power | 1800W | 2200 Watts |
| Max / min simulated grade | 16% / not stated on either bundle page | 20% / -15% |
| Power accuracy | +/- 2% | +/- 1% |
| Rider height | 146 - 198 cm (Zwift) | 152 cm to 193 cm |
| Max rider weight | 120 kg | 250 lb / 113 kg |
| Crank lengths | 160 / 165 / 170 / 172.5 / 175 mm | 165, 167.5, 170, 172.5, 175 mm |
| Footprint | 134 cm L x 60.2 cm W (Zwift) | 140 x 78 cm, fully extended, rounded up |
| Weight | 35.5 kg (Zwift) | 79 lb / 36 kg (product page) |
| Connectivity | Trainer: Bluetooth, ANT+, WiFi. Controls: Bluetooth | ANT+, ANT+ FE-C, WiFi, Bluetooth, Direct Connect |
Neither brand gives a speed condition for max power or a test condition for accuracy.
Price, shipping and returns
Zwift Ride V2 with KICKR CORE 2. Zwift: "This product will arrive in three separate boxes." Wahoo's shipping page: "Zwift Ride ships for $75. There is a $40 restocking fee for returns." Zwift's return policy charges $40 for a US Zwift Ride return and doesn't refund the original shipping.
Smart Frame alone. $799.99 plus a "$55 shipping charge applied at checkout", with a Zwift Cog, if you own a compatible trainer.
KICKR BIKE SHIFT. Wahoo's shipping page: "KICKR BIKE PRO, KICKR BIKE, and KICKR BIKE SHIFT only ship via LTL Truck for $150 and cannot ship outside of the contiguous United States." Its returns page allows 30 days from delivery with a $250 restocking fee ("Restocking fee includes return shipping cost/packaging cost") and doesn't refund the original shipping.
A change of mind: $40 plus the $75 shipping on the Zwift Ride, $250 plus $150 on the SHIFT.
What's in the box
Zwift Ride (Zwift's list). KICKR CORE 2 with Zwift Cog, Smart Frame, handlebar with controllers, Zwift Key, left and right pedals, charging cable for controllers, magnetic cable tidies. Wahoo's list for the same bundle adds a thru axle, an Allen key and a phone tray mat.
KICKR BIKE SHIFT (Wahoo). The smart bike, AC power adapter, 4 mm and 5 mm Allen wrenches, handlebar assembly, seatpost and saddle assembly; "Does not include pedals". The owner's manual says: "KICKR BIKE SHIFT assembly requires two people."
The core difference: one machine vs frame plus trainer
On the Zwift Ride, power, resistance and accuracy come from the KICKR CORE 2; the frame supplies fit, chain and controls, and is sold alone too. Its compatibility table lists trainers from Elite, Garmin Tacx, JetBlack, Van Rysel ("UK and EU only"), Wahoo (KICKR v6, KICKR CORE, KICKR CORE 2, KICKR MOVE) and Zwift (Hub), many needing a Zwift Cog or a riser foot: "The Zwift Cog and riser feet are included with the Zwift Ride Smart Frame when purchased without a trainer." The store page also rules out KICKR v5 and earlier.
Tacx: the sources disagree. Zwift's Smart Frame page: "The Zwift Ride Smart Frame is not compatible with Tacx trainers, Elite trainers without the Zwift Cog preinstalled, and Wahoo KICKR v5 or earlier models due to hardware and firmware limitations." The same page's trainer picker offers Garmin Tacx, model Neo 2T, with a "Garmin Tacx Zwift Cog" option, and Zwift's table lists "Tacx NEO 2T" with "Zwift Cog installation is required. Large riser foot installation is required." Garmin's FAQ: "The Zwift Ride Frame is compatible with the Neo 2T, as well as type 2 NEO 2 Smart trainers. It is not compatible with type 1 Tacx trainers." Zwift's table has no NEO 2 row. Tacx owners: ask Zwift first.
Elite wording differs too. The store page excludes Elite trainers without a pre-installed Cog; Zwift's table lists Cog-less Elite models such as the Direto and Justo with "Zwift Cog installation is required."
Shifting and controls
Zwift Ride. Built-in rechargeable handlebar controllers ("20 hrs. Per charge") over Bluetooth; Apple TV users pair through the Zwift Companion app. The battery specs differ: Zwift lists "1350-1400 maH" and "USB-C, 5v, 1A", Wahoo's bundle page "1050 mAH" and "USB-A, 5v, 1A". Gears are virtual, on one Zwift Cog. Wahoo's virtual shifting FAQ: "Virtual shifting with Zwift controllers is currently not available with other ride simulation apps." (Zwift and ROUVY have it.)
Customisable gears: the sources disagree. Zwift: "Boost your training with a real ride feel, quiet and customizable virtual gear shifting, and full control of Zwift from your handlebars." Wahoo's bundle page: "Silent virtual shifting with a customizable gear setup". Wahoo's virtual shifting FAQ: "No, unlike simulated shifting available on the KICKR BIKE or KICKR BIKE SHIFT, the 24 "gears" of virtual shifting are configured as a linear progression without the option for customization."
KICKR BIKE SHIFT. Wahoo: "Virtual shifting and custom gearing let you match the gear ratios of your outdoor bike, replicating the major groupsets from Shimano, SRAM and Campagnolo." Firmware from 29 October 2024 added "Zwift Protocol", a Zwift HUD gear display and "Braking in Zwift". Wahoo's Zwift controls article notes: "Controls are not available over ANT+ connections."
Power and grade
SHIFT: 2200 W, 20%, -15%. Zwift Ride (its CORE 2): 1800W and 16% on Zwift's page.
Grade: Wahoo's bundle page disagrees with itself. Its feature list: "In-game gradient changes drive the trainer, up to 20% up and -15% down". Its tech specs: "Maximum Simulated Grade: 16%", matching Zwift.
Wahoo's smart bike comparison gives "Physical Grade Changes +20% / -15%" to the KICKR BIKE PRO ($3,999.99) and a dash to the SHIFT. Wahoo's old KICKR BIKE page now redirects to the PRO.
Fit, rider size and cranks
Cranks. Zwift Ride V2: five lengths, 160 to 175 mm. SHIFT: five, 165 to 175 mm, set by moving the pedal to another hole in the crank arm (manual). Original Zwift Ride owners can buy Adjustable Crank Arms at $99.99; that page still says "Zwift Ride's stock 170 mm crank is optimized for most riders."
Zwift Ride height: three figures. Zwift's store: "146 - 198 cm". Wahoo's bundle page: "4 ft 10 in - 6 ft 6 in (147-198 cm)". The zwift.com FAQ: "Rider height min:5' (152 cm)". Wahoo's bundle page: "Fit range: Expanded down to 4’10” (previously 5’)".
SHIFT height: two figures. The product page and Wahoo's information page: "5 feet (152 cm) to 6 feet 4 inches (193 cm)". The smart bike page FAQ: "It's easily adjustable for riders between 5' and 6'6" tall."
Rider weight. The Zwift Ride lists 120 kg (Zwift and Wahoo). Wahoo's standalone CORE 2 page lists "250 lb / 113 kg"; neither brand says which applies to the bundle. The SHIFT lists 113 kg; its manual gives 113.5 kg.
Neither lists an inseam range. Zwift gives saddle height (57.1 to 86.5 cm); Wahoo lists five adjustment points but no ranges.
Footprint and weight
Zwift Ride. Zwift's store: "134 cm L x 60.2 cm W". Wahoo: "135.9 x 60.2 cm". Zwift's FAQ: "The total length of Zwift Ride with KICKR CORE 2 is 1.36 m, and the total width is 0.43 m." Weight: 35.5 kg (Zwift), 35.4 kg (Wahoo); Zwift's frame-only page lists the same 35.5 kg.
KICKR BIKE SHIFT. Wahoo's space article: fully extended and rounded up, 140 cm long, 78 cm wide, 110 cm to the saddle top. Weight: "79 lb / 36 kg" on the product page; "Weight: 100 lbs // 40 kg" on the information page.
Apps and warranty
Wahoo lists the SHIFT with Zwift, ROUVY, TrainingPeaks, MyWhoosh, KinoMap and the Wahoo app. Zwift: "Zwift Ride with KICKR CORE 2 is compatible with Zwift and ROUVY." Wahoo's tech specs agree; its Setup tab says: "Thoughtfully designed for the home, and more compact than a standard trainer and bike setup, Zwift Ride V2 with KICKR CORE 2 is only compatible with Zwift."
Zwift's warranty policy: "Our limited warranty is valid for a 2-year period in the EU and UK and for a 1-year period in all other Authorized Regions." It excludes "Non-Zwift branded products, even if packaged or sold with Zwift Training Product." Wahoo lists KICKR smart bikes and smart trainers at 12 months.
Who each one fits
- Lower cost, Zwift or Rouvy, shorter riders or short cranks. Zwift Ride V2 with KICKR CORE 2.
- Already own a trainer on Zwift's list. Smart Frame alone. Check the Tacx conflict first.
- Groupset-style shifting, more listed apps, 2200 W, -15% descents. KICKR BIKE SHIFT, contiguous US only.
- Physical tilt. Neither; Wahoo lists it on the KICKR BIKE PRO.
What we could not confirm
- Smart Frame on Tacx and Elite. Zwift's store excludes Tacx and Cog-less Elites; its picker and table list the NEO 2T and Cog-less Elites; Garmin adds type 2 NEO 2.
- Zwift Ride grade. 16% vs 20% / -15%, both on Wahoo's bundle page; no minimum on either bundle page.
- Customisable Zwift Ride gears. Zwift and Wahoo's bundle page yes; Wahoo's FAQ no.
- Zwift Ride apps. Zwift and ROUVY vs Zwift only (Wahoo Setup tab).
- Zwift Ride height, footprint, weight limit. 146, 147 or 152 cm; three footprints; 120 kg vs 113 kg (standalone CORE 2).
- Zwift Ride battery and box. 1350-1400 vs 1050 mAh, USB-C vs USB-A; Wahoo's box list adds three items; the frame-only page repeats the bundle weight.
- Zwift crank page. Still describes a stock 170 mm crank.
- SHIFT figures. 36 vs 40 kg; 193 cm vs 6'6"; 113 vs 113.5 kg; electronic vs electromagnetic brake.
- Not stated. SHIFT flywheel weight and saddle range; inseam ranges; power and accuracy test conditions; who handles a CORE 2 warranty claim on a Zwift-bought bundle.
Related on Pedal Brief
- Zwift Cog compatible trainers
- KICKR CORE 2 vs Van Rysel D500
- Smart trainer buying guide
- Best indoor cycling apps
Sources
All checked 5 October 2026 (Europe/Copenhagen), US stores.
- Zwift: Zwift Ride with KICKR CORE 2, Zwift Ride Smart Frame, Zwift Ride Adjustable Crank Arms, Zwift Ride page and FAQ, Smart Frame trainer compatibility, Limited Warranty and Return Policy
- Wahoo: KICKR BIKE SHIFT, Smart bikes and comparison, Zwift Ride V2 with KICKR CORE 2, KICKR CORE 2, KICKR BIKE SHIFT owner's manual (PDF), KICKR BIKE SHIFT Information and Setup, KICKR BIKE SHIFT space, KICKR BIKE SHIFT firmware release notes, Zwift controls for KICKR BIKEs / SHIFT, Virtual shifting with Wahoo smart trainers, Shipping & Delivery, Returns & Warranty
- Garmin: Top FAQs About Virtual Shifting on Tacx Trainers
Disclosure: Pedal Brief may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This version has no affiliate links. We have not tested either bike. Every price, spec and policy below comes from Zwift's, Wahoo's or Garmin's own pages, is linked, and was checked on 5 October 2026 on the brands' US stores, in US dollars. Full disclosures.