Pedal Brief. Tue + Fri · free

Home / Guides / Wahoo KICKR CORE 2 vs Van Rysel D500

Wahoo KICKR CORE 2 vs Van Rysel D500: both with Zwift Cog and Click

Published 1 October 2026

Who it's for: riders choosing between the two mid-price Zwift Ready trainers that ship with Zwift Cog and Click already fitted, and want the brand-listed numbers side by side before picking.

The short answer

Both are direct-drive smart trainers sold with a pre-installed Zwift Cog and a Zwift Click handlebar remote. Zwift lists both as Zwift Ready.

On 1 October 2026, Decathlon's US store listed the Van Rysel D500 with Zwift Cog and Click at $499.00. Wahoo and Zwift both listed the KICKR CORE 2 with Zwift Cog and Click at $549.99 (same on Zwift's US store, which adds a "$40 shipping charge applied at checkout").

For fifty dollars more, the CORE 2 lists higher peak power (1800 W vs 1500 W), a steeper max grade (16% vs 15%), claimed ±2% accuracy, WiFi, Race Mode and KICKR Bridge. The D500 folds, lists a noise figure, and costs less. Decathlon's US page gives its accuracy in inches, which is a new one; see below.

Wider market: smart trainer buying guide. Full Cog list: Zwift Cog compatible trainers.

Spec sheet, side by side

Brand-listed US figures as displayed on 1 October 2026. Accuracy for the D500 is quoted exactly as Decathlon prints it.

Spec Wahoo KICKR CORE 2 (Cog and Click) Van Rysel D500 (Cog and Click)
US price shown $549.99 (Wahoo and Zwift) $499.00 (Decathlon)
Type Direct drive Direct drive
Max power 1800 W 1500 W
Max simulated grade 16% up to 15%
Min simulated grade -10% (Wahoo) Not stated on the US page
Claimed power accuracy +/- 2% "Power accuracy:±2,5 Inch" (see gaps)
Product weight 30 lb / 13.6 kg (Wahoo); Zwift's store lists 19.7 kg 13.6 kg
Max rider weight 250 lb / 113 kg (Wahoo); Zwift lists 114 kg Not stated on the US page
Connectivity ANT+, ANT+ FE-C, WiFi, Bluetooth Bluetooth FTMS, ANT+
Resistance Electromagnetic; belt drive Smart resistance (Decathlon); magnet in composition
Noise (brand figure) Not listed as a dB figure on the product page "Only 56 dB at 25 km/h (measured at 1.5 m)"
Foldable No Yes (Decathlon lists unfolded 600 × 500 × 460 mm and a "Folded weight" line of 600 × 250 × 520 mm, which reads as folded size)
Cog / Click in the box Pre-installed Cog, Click included "The Zwift Click & Cog is included with the product"
Axles in the box 130/135 mm QR and 12x142 / 12x148 thru-axle adapters QR 130-135x5 mm provided; thru-axle 142-148x12 mm adapter kit provided
Firmware / app Wahoo app; WiFi auto-updates Onelap Fit (free); Decathlon: "Wireless software updates: Yes"
Cog drivetrain range (brand wording) "almost any 8-13 speed bike" (Wahoo and Zwift) 8-12 speed (Decathlon)
Warranty shown on the product page "1-year warranty" (Wahoo); "Includes a 2-year limited warranty." (Zwift store) Links a general Warranty Policy only
Shipping shown Wahoo: no cost stated on the page; Zwift: "$40 shipping charge applied at checkout" Site banner: "Free Shipping on Orders $49+"
Zwift trial in the listing One month free for new Zwift customers (Wahoo and Zwift) Decathlon's US page did not show a Zwift trial line when we checked
Ecosystem extras KICKR CLIMB and HEADWIND compatible; Race Mode; KICKR Bridge Not stated

Price and what's in the box

KICKR CORE 2 with Zwift Cog and Click. Wahoo's box list: the trainer, drive-side QR adapter, reversible hub spacer for 130/135 mm QR, non-drive adapters for 12x142 and 12x148, drive-side thru-axle adapter, AC power adapter, pre-installed Zwift Cog, and Zwift Click. The Click "runs on a CR2032 battery and pairs over Bluetooth." The same trainer with an 11-speed 11-28 cassette is also $549.99.

Van Rysel D500. Decathlon: "The Zwift Click & Cog is included with the product." Specs add a quick-release and a thru-axle adapter kit. There is no full "In the box" list like Wahoo's. Marketing line: "Compact, quiet, and precise, the D500 delivers 1,500W of power, simulates climbs up to 15%."

Fifty dollars separates them on the sticker. Buy the CORE 2 from Zwift's store and its $40 shipping charge makes it ninety; Wahoo's product page doesn't state a shipping cost. A Cog in the box means you are not also budgeting a cassette on day one (a common mid-range catch in our buying guide).

Power, grade and the accuracy problem

Wahoo lists +/- 2% accuracy, 1800 W max and 16% / -10% grade. Zwift's CORE 2 page matches 1800 W and 16%, and lists a 5.4 kg flywheel.

Decathlon lists 1500 W and "Slope simulation: up to 15%." Its Performance block still shows, character for character: "Power accuracy:±2,5 Inch". Inches are not a unit of power accuracy. The same page also prints "Inch" where quotation marks belong (around "Zwift Click", for example), so it looks like a formatting fault. That still leaves no number, and we are not going to guess one, so the D500 has no accuracy figure in our comparison. Same gap as in the smart trainer buying guide.

Decathlon publishes 56 dB at 25 km/h at 1.5 m. Wahoo does not put a matching dB number on the CORE 2 page, so there is nothing clean to put next to it.

Connectivity and the extras you actually notice

WiFi and Race Mode sit on the CORE 2 side. Wahoo: integrated WiFi for "faster, more stable data transfer" and automatic updates. Race Mode "boosts responsiveness by increasing the trainer's power broadcast rate from 1 Hz to up to 10 Hz" and is "Available only with Wi-Fi." KICKR Bridge streams heart-rate and other controllers through the trainer, with Bridge support for Zwift Click v2 and Ride controllers marked "Coming soon."

One wording clash on the Wahoo side. The CORE 2 product page says "Bluetooth required for Zwift virtual shift" without saying for which device. Wahoo's virtual shifting article lets you pair the trainer over Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or Direct Connect, with the Zwift controller on Bluetooth. We read the product page as meaning the Click, but Wahoo doesn't say.

The D500 stays on Bluetooth FTMS and ANT+. Updates go through Onelap Fit. No WiFi, Race Mode or Bridge on the US spec sheet. That is the CORE 2's lane if you care about WiFi pairing or sprint update rate. For ERG and group rides without those extras, the D500's listed interfaces cover the usual apps.

Fold and accessories. Decathlon lists folded and unfolded dimensions for the D500. The CORE 2 does not fold; Wahoo uses redesigned color-coded legs and a four-bolt assembly. Wahoo also lists KICKR CLIMB and HEADWIND compatibility. Decathlon does not list equivalent first-party grade or fan hardware on the US D500 page.

Cassette swap, drivetrains and the "UK and EU only" note

Both ship as Zwift Ready with the Cog fitted. You can also run a normal cassette.

D500, per Decathlon. Remove the Zwift Cog from the cassette body. Cassettes listed: Shimano 8/9/10/11/12-speed and SRAM 8/9/10/11-speed. SRAM 12-speed XDR: "REQUIRES CASSETTE HUB NOT SUPPLIED -> REF: 8919550." On the Cog, Decathlon says: "It works with SRAM/SHIMANO/CAMPAGNOLO 8-12 speed drive trains." It also says the Click gives you 24 levels of resistance.

CORE 2, per Wahoo. With the Cog fitted: "almost any 8-13-speed bike." Cassette version: Shimano HG 8–12 out of the box, optional freehubs for SRAM XD/XDR or Campagnolo; "not compatible with Shimano Micro Spline" or "Campagnolo N3W 13 speed." Stock cassette "is incompatible with Shimano CUES/LinkGlide drivetrains."

The sources disagree on 13-speed. It is the same Zwift Cog, but Decathlon says 8 to 12-speed while Wahoo and Zwift say almost any 8 to 13-speed bike. If you ride 13-speed, Decathlon doesn't back you up in writing; ask Decathlon before you buy the D500.

Zwift's regional note. Zwift still marks the Van Rysel D500 (and D100 / HT RCR) "UK and EU only," and adds: "The previous version of the Van Rysel D500 sold without the Zwift Cog and Click is not compatible with the Zwift Cog and Click." Decathlon's US store sells the Cog-and-Click D500 anyway. Both were true on 1 October 2026, and our Zwift Cog compatible trainers guide flags the same clash. Zwift's kit page also says: "Only D500 trainers with foldable legs, bought September 2025 onward, are compatible." Decathlon's US listing gives folded dimensions, which points to the foldable version, but it doesn't state a production date.

Who each one fits

Fits, not rankings. We have not ridden either.

What we could not confirm

Related on Pedal Brief

Sources

All checked 1 October 2026 (Europe/Copenhagen).

Disclosure: Pedal Brief may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This version has no affiliate links. We have not tested these trainers. Every price and spec below comes from the brand's own store or product page, is linked, and was checked on 1 October 2026 in US dollars. Full disclosures.