Pedal Brief. Tue + Fri · free

Home / Guides / SPD-SLR power meter pedals

SPD-SLR power meter pedals: none yet, and what to buy instead

Published 28 September 2026

Disclosure: Pedal Brief may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This version has no affiliate links. We have not tested these pedals. Every spec and price below comes from the brand's own pages unless we say otherwise, and each is linked. Prices are what each brand's store showed on 28 September 2026, in US dollars. Full disclosures.

Short answer

As of 28 September 2026, nobody lists an SPD-SLR power meter pedal. We checked the power pedal pages from Favero, Garmin, SRM, Magene, Look and Wahoo, and none of them mentions SPD-SLR. Shimano's two SPD-SLR pedals, the Dura-Ace PD-R9300 ($300) and Ultegra PD-R8200 ($200), don't measure power. Shimano's own power meters are cranksets, such as the Dura-Ace FC-R9200-P.

So you have three routes today:

New to the naming? Our SPD vs SPD-SL vs SPD-SLR explainer covers which cleat fits which pedal. Gravel riders on two-bolt SPD want SPD power meter pedals for gravel instead.

Can SPD-SLR cleats go on SPD-SL power pedals?

Shimano says no. Its CL-SL110 cleat page reads: "Compatible with SHIMANO SPD-SLR pedals, not compatible with SPD-SL pedals". Shimano's technical spec chart for the outgoing Dura-Ace PD-R9100 lists no SPD-SLR cleat among its optional cleats, and the PD-R9300 chart lists no SPD-SL cleat. Every SPD-SL power pedal below lists SPD-SL cleats only.

Cyclingnews tried it anyway. Its launch story says Shimano's "official line is that there's no backwards compatibility at all", then adds: "more unofficially, I'm told the new cleats will technically fit into old SPD-SL pedals (and they do; I've tried it), but that the old SPD-SL cleats won't fit into the new pedals." The same article follows up with "You should definitely follow Shimano's official advice, though." We agree. One reviewer's test is not a supported setup.

The SPD-SL and alternative power pedals compared

Product Cleat system (brand wording) Price, dual / single Single-sided version measures Cleats in the box?
Favero Assioma PRO RS-2 / RS-1 "100% compatible with Shimano® SPD-SL®" $789 / $499 Left Yes, Favero SPD-SL cleats 6°
Garmin Rally RS210 / RS110 Cleat type "SHIMANO SPD-SL" $899.99 / $599.99 Not stated on the product page (see below) Yes, "SHIMANO SPD-SL compatible cleats"
SRM X-Power Road "SHIMANO SPDsl CLEAT COMPATIBLE" $1,699 / $1,399 (Single listed at "-$300.00") Not stated Yes, "SPDsl Cleats"
Magene P715 S Cleat type "KEO // SPD-SL" (S is the SPD-SL version) $499, dual only No single version No
Look Keo Blade Power Dual / Single Keo Grip $899.99 / $599.99 Left No in-the-box list
Wahoo SPEEDPLAY POWER Dual / Single Speedplay $849.99 / $599.99 Left Yes, Standard Tension cleats

Prices checked 28 September 2026; sources are linked in each section.

A warning on stack heights: the brands don't measure them on one basis. Look gives a pedal-plus-cleat total, SRM labels its figure "pedal stack height", and the rest don't say. For reference, Shimano's PD-R9300 page claims "SHIMANO's lowest stack height ever at 12.5 mm", its spec chart lists 12 mm, and Cyclingnews reports the 12.5 mm as "for pedal and cleat, excluding shoe".

Favero Assioma PRO RS

Favero's RS-2 shop page lists the clip-in system as "100% compatible with Shimano® SPD-SL®", with its own cleats (art. 773-20-64) or Shimano SM-SH10, SM-SH11 and SM-SH12.

The spec table gives 124.8 g per power pedal, 10.5 mm stack, Q-factor "+53 mm", "Up to 160 hours per charge", IP67, ANT+ and Bluetooth, ± 1% accuracy and a 2-year warranty. The product page adds "Fast charge: 15 hrs in 15 m". The RS-1 measures the left leg and doubles it. The RS-UP upgrade to dual is $489, so RS-1 plus upgrade comes to $988, against $789 for an RS-2 bought outright.

In the box (RS-2): both power pedals, Favero SPD-SL cleats 6°, two magnetic connectors, a two-way charging cable, a greasing tools kit, cleat screws and washers, and the manuals. The RS-1 gets one magnetic connector.

Spares (PRO RS replacements page): SPD-SL cleats $10, USB-C cable (2 m) $17, USB-C magnetic connectors $33, repair kit $33, a pair of RS pedal bodies $130 (single body $67), and a left or right sensor $396. Favero also sells MX (SPD) bodies for the same spindle at $130 a pair, if the other bike is a gravel bike.

Garmin Rally RS210 and RS110

Garmin's RS210 spec tab lists cleat type "SHIMANO SPD-SL": 312 g, 12.2 mm stack, Q-factor "53 mm (55 mm with provided 2 mm washer)", maximum rider weight 105 kg, "up to 90 hours" of battery, quick charge "12 hours in 15 minutes of charging time (USB-C required)" and ±1% accuracy. The RS110 lists 320 g with the same stack, battery and accuracy figures.

The RS110 product page doesn't say which side measures. Garmin's Rally 110/210 owner's manual says only the left pedal has a status LED on a Rally 110, and has you fit the dual-sensing upgrade spindle to the right pedal.

In the box: the RS210 comes with "Two charging clips and charging cables", "SHIMANO SPD-SL compatible cleats", hardware and documentation. The RS110 has one charging clip and cable.

Spares that name the RS: RS Replacement Cleats 4.5° Float $24.99. RS 110/210 Pedal Rebuild Kits (right, left), each a replacement pedal body with hardware, $99.99 per side. Rally Charging Adapter $24.99. The Dual-sensing Upgrade Spindle is $549.99 and lists the RS110, so RS110 plus upgrade is $1,149.98 against $899.99 for the RS210. If you already own Rally XC pedals, the RS Pedal Body Conversion Kit puts your sensor in road bodies for $149.99.

SRM X-Power Road

SRM's US shop page says "SHIMANO SPDsl CLEAT COMPATIBLE". Its technical specs list ±2% accuracy, 9.75 mm pedal stack height, 53 mm Q-factor, "30h – Rechargeable via magnetic charger", ANT+ and Bluetooth, 140 g per pedal and a 2-year warranty. The page shows $1,699, with "Single (-$300.00)" and "Single Sided Upgrade (-$400.00)" as version options.

In the box: "Instruction Manual, X-Power Pedals (R+L), SPDsl Cleats, Charge Cable (1x), Charge Clips (2x)".

Spare: the X-Power Pedal Charger is $35, described as a "Replacement charger for SRM X-Power PowerMeter Pedals" with a micro USB cable and magnetic charge adapter.

Magene P715 S

Magene's P715 page sells a K (Look Keo) and an S (SPD-SL) version, both dual-sided, at $499. That price is from Magene's global store, in US dollars with tax included. Black is sold in "All countries and regions except EU and UK"; silver in all except Germany and Italy.

The spec table gives ±1% accuracy, 55 mm Q-factor, 13 mm stack and 318 g for the P715 S, Bluetooth and ANT+, IPX7 and magnetic charging. Battery life is 120 hours, which Magene says "is tested in Magene lab and may be affected by environment and temperature."

In the box: "Power meter pedal x 2, Crank washer x 2, Charging cable x 1, Quick start guide x 1". No cleats, so add a set of SPD-SL cleats to the $499.

Spare: a P715 replacement pedal body is $49 per side, with SPD-SL drive-side and non-driven-side versions. Magene warns that K and S bodies "are not interchangeable".

Look Keo and Wahoo SPEEDPLAY

Look Keo Blade Power uses Keo Grip cleats. Both versions list "Battery life - in use : 60 hours" and a "Total stack height (pedal + cleat)" of "17.1 mm ( 10.8 + 6.3 )". The Dual page claims "accuracy levels of around 1%". The Single is "Perfectly integrated inside the left pedal axle" and gives no accuracy figure. Neither page has an in-the-box list.

Wahoo SPEEDPLAY POWER uses Speedplay cleats. Both versions list "+/- 1% Power Accuracy", "Battery Life: Up to 75 hours" and "Stack Height: 13mm (3 hole)". The Single pairs a left power pedal with a regular Speedplay Zero on the right, and its "left sensor calculates total power by doubling your left leg's output". Standard Tension cleats and the charging cable and clips (one clip with the Single) are in the box. Replacement cleats are $59.99.

Will SPD-SLR power pedals happen?

Cyclingnews wrote: "Cyclingnews understands the new SPD-SLR will be patented, but the brand was unclear on its plans for licensing out the new design to the same brands." road.cc reported that "Shimano says talks over licensing already taking place, though it didn’t divulge with which brands." Shimano has made no public statement of its own on licensing, and no power pedal brand has announced an SPD-SLR version.

Which route fits

What we could not confirm

Sources