Home / Guides / SPD power meter pedals for gravel
SPD power meter pedals for gravel: Favero, Garmin, Look and SRM compared
Published 26 September 2026
Disclosure: Pedal Brief may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. This version has no affiliate links. We have not tested these pedals ourselves. Every spec and price below comes from the brand's own pages unless we say otherwise, and each is linked. Full disclosures.
Who it's for: gravel riders who use two-bolt SPD shoes and want power data they can move between bikes, without changing their cleats or walking shoes.
This guide compares four SPD-compatible power meter pedals from Favero, Garmin, Look and SRM. There are other brands we have not covered. All four are rechargeable and all four come in single-sided and dual-sided versions. The real differences are battery life, how they charge, stack height, whether the sensor can move to road pedal bodies, and price.
A note on names. Favero's current model is the Assioma PRO MX-2, which is what "Assioma MX-2" now refers to on Favero's store. Garmin's current off-road pedals are the Rally XC110 and XC210, announced in September 2025. The older Rally XC100 and XC200 use coin-cell batteries, and we cover them separately below.
For how SPD, SPD-SL and the new SPD-SLR relate (bolt patterns and which cleats fit which pedals), see our Shimano SPD vs SPD-SL vs SPD-SLR explainer.
Side-by-side
| Favero Assioma PRO MX-2 | Garmin Rally XC210 | Look X-Track Power Dual | SRM X-Power (dual) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battery | Rechargeable, up to 160 h | Rechargeable, up to 90 h | Rechargeable, 60 h | Rechargeable, up to 30 h |
| Charging | Magnetic, both pedals at once | USB-C charging clips, one per pedal | Magnetic + USB-C, both at once | Magnetic charger |
| Quick charge (claimed) | 15 h from 15 min | 12 h from 15 min | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cleats | Favero cleats included; Shimano SM-SH51, SM-SH56 and CL-MT001 compatible | Shimano SPD compatible cleats included | Look standard cleat included; "SPD standard" compatible | Cleats included; "all SPD compatible cleats" |
| Pedal stack | 11.2 mm | 11.5 mm | 10.7 mm | 10.5 mm |
| Q-factor | 53 mm | 53 mm (55 mm with washer) | 53 mm | 54 mm |
| Claimed accuracy | ±1% | ±1% | "around 1%" | ±2% |
| Swap to road bodies | Yes (RS for SPD-SL, RL for Look Keo; $130 a pair) | Yes (RS for SPD-SL, $149.99 a kit; RK for Look Keo, no price shown) | Look lists its power axle as "Compatible with Keo Blade Power and X-Track Power"; Keo Blade Power bodies $125 a side | SRM sells SPD and SPD-SL binding versions; a DIY swap is not stated |
| US list price, dual | $789 | $899.99 | $1,099 | $1,499 |
| US list price, single | $499 (MX-1) | $599.99 (XC110) | $749 | $1,199 |
Sources: Favero Assioma PRO MX, its US shop page and its comparison sheet; Garmin Rally XC210, Rally XC110 and the Rally 110/210 announcement; Look X-Track Power Dual and Single; SRM's US shop and X-Power FAQ. Road-body and axle rows: Favero RS and RL pedal bodies, Garmin Pedal Body Conversion Kit, Look Instrumented Power Axle and power accessories. Prices were checked on 26 September 2026.
Battery and charging
Favero. Favero says the PRO line has "the longest battery life among pedal-based power meters, with up to 160 hours of use per charge". That figure came from a firmware update in February 2026, which DC Rainmaker reports raised the claim from 60 to 160 hours. Older Favero spec sheets still say "at least 60 hours", so update the firmware before judging the battery. Charging is magnetic, both pedals charge at the same time, and Favero claims "15 hrs in 15 m".
Garmin. The Rally 110/210 pedals are rechargeable, rated at up to 90 hours, and Garmin says a 15-minute charge gives up to 12 hours. Each pedal charges through its own clip and USB-C cable. The owner's manual recommends a USB-C port or adapter rated for 2 to 2.5 W, and no wall adapter comes in the box. On the single-sided XC110, only the left pedal needs charging. A Travel Mode switches the pedals off for transport.
Look. Look rates the X-Track Power at 60 hours in use, six months in sleep mode and more than 12 months in deep sleep, from a 140 mAh Li-Po battery in each axle. Both pedals charge together through a magnetic connector and USB-C cable. Look also claims "less than 20% capacity loss after 300 full cycles (approx. 10 years of use)".
SRM. SRM lists up to 30 hours of runtime from a 70 mAh lithium polymer battery, charged by a magnetic charger. That is the shortest runtime here by a wide margin. SRM's 2022 manual lists a micro-USB cable and adapter in the box, and says a full charge takes about three hours. We could not confirm whether current units ship with USB-C.
Older Garmin XC200/XC100. These are not rechargeable. Garmin's Rally specifications list user-replaceable batteries (one CR1/3N or two LR44/SR44 per pedal) and up to 120 hours with cycling dynamics. If you find a discounted XC200, you are buying into coin cells rather than a charger. Garmin does not state battery prices, so we have not estimated the running cost.
Cleat compatibility
All four use two-bolt SPD-style cleats, so your existing SPD shoes will work. The details differ:
- Favero includes its own cleats and lists Shimano SM-SH51, SM-SH56 and CL-MT001 as compatible.
- Garmin ships "SHIMANO SPD compatible cleats" with the XC210 and XC110.
- Look includes its standard X-Track cleat, sells an Easy Cleat separately, and describes the pedals as compatible with "the SPD standard". Look lists 6° float and adjustable release tension.
- SRM says the X-Power "is compatible with all SPD compatible cleats" and uses SPD bindings made by Look. SRM recommends fresh cleats, because a worn cleat may feel loose.
If you ride road as well, Favero and Garmin both sell road pedal bodies for their off-road power pedals. Favero sells road bodies for the same spindle at $130 a pair (RS for Shimano SPD-SL cleats, RL for Look Keo) and says the swap needs no adapters or special tools. Favero lists the pair as "1x left pedal body" and "1x right pedal body", with no cleats listed. Garmin sells a Pedal Body Conversion Kit at $149.99 for RS (SPD-SL) and $249.99 for XC. The RK (Look Keo) version is listed but showed no price when we checked. Garmin lists the contents as "Two Rally™ RK/RS/XC pedal bodies (depending on the version selected), Cleats, Hardware, Documentation". Garmin also sells bundles pairing a dual road set with XC bodies. Look lists its Instrumented Power Axle at $450 per side as "Compatible with Keo Blade Power and X-Track Power", and its power accessories page lists Keo Blade Power bodies at $125 per side. The Look pages we checked do not describe how to move an axle from one body to another. SRM does not describe a road swap on its product pages. Prices checked 26 September 2026.
Single vs dual sided
Single-sided pedals measure one leg and double it. Dual-sided pedals measure both legs, which gives real left/right balance and more pedalling metrics.
- Favero MX-1 measures on the left ("Left x2" in Favero's comparison sheet). Favero sells an upgrade to MX-2 for $489, so MX-1 plus the upgrade costs $988, or $199 more than buying MX-2 outright.
- Garmin XC110 is single sensing. Garmin's XC110 page says: "Want more metrics? It’s easy to upgrade later to the dual-sensing system." Garmin sells the Dual-sensing Upgrade Spindle (Rally Pedal) at $549.99 and describes it as: "Upgrade your Rally 110 to a dual-sensing power meter". XC110 plus the spindle comes to $1,149.98, or $249.99 more than buying the XC210 outright (prices checked 26 September 2026).
- Look X-Track Power Single measures left power and doubles it, per Look's spec table.
- SRM single-sided X-Power pairs a right-hand power pedal with a non-power left pedal, according to SRM USA.
If you only want training zones, single-sided is the cheaper route in all four ranges. If left/right balance matters to you, for example after an injury, buy dual from the start unless you have checked the upgrade price.
Running costs (brand-stated prices only)
The ongoing costs are cleats, plus chargers or cables if you lose them. What the brands list:
- Shimano SM-SH51 cleats: $21.00 on Shimano's US store. Favero names these as compatible, and SRM and Garmin say their pedals work with SPD cleats.
- Look spares: Look's US store lists a Power Charger at $35.00, a Charging Cable at $21.00, X-Track Power bodies at $150.00 per side and an Instrumented Power Axle at $450.00 per side (power accessories, checked 26 September 2026).
- Favero spares: its US store lists Favero SPD cleats at $17.00 a pair, a USB-C cable at $17.00 and a set of USB-C magnetic connectors at $33.00.
- SRM spares: SRM's US shop lists an X-Power Pedal Charger at $35.00.
- Garmin spares: Garmin's US store lists a Rally Charging Adapter at $24.99, Pedal Body Conversion Kits at $149.99 (RS) and $249.99 (XC), with no price shown for RK, and the Dual-sensing Upgrade Spindle at $549.99 (checked 26 September 2026).
- Batteries: the rechargeable models need none. For the older XC200, coin cells are cheap, but Garmin does not state a price.
Weight and warranty
The brands state weight differently, so compare with care. Favero lists 199 g per pedal. Look lists 202 g per pedal, 404 g a pair and 455 g a pair with cleats. Garmin lists 436 g for the XC210 without saying whether that includes cleats. SRM's shop says 194 g and SRM USA says 172 g per pedal. Warranty is 2 years for Favero and SRM, per their shop pages, and "up to 3 years" for Look. We did not find Garmin's warranty term on the product page.
Which one fits
- Lowest listed price and longest claimed battery: Favero Assioma PRO MX-2 at $789, or MX-1 at $499.
- Riding road and gravel with one sensor: Favero or Garmin, both of which sell road bodies for the same spindles. Favero's MX-2 ($789) plus a pair of RS or RL road bodies ($130) comes to $919. Garmin's XC210 ($899.99) plus an RS conversion kit ($149.99) comes to $1,049.98. Garmin lists cleats in its kit; Favero's listing does not. Look sells Keo Blade Power bodies at $125 per side and lists its power axle as "Compatible with Keo Blade Power and X-Track Power", but its pages do not describe the swap, so we have not added up a Look total. Prices checked 26 September 2026.
- Lowest stack of the 60-hour-plus options, with both pedals charging at once: Look X-Track Power, at a higher price.
- SRM X-Power: it is current, but it costs the most, has the shortest listed runtime and the widest claimed accuracy band (±2%). We could not find a spec-based reason to pick it over the others unless you are already on SRM's software.
For road pedals, crank arm, spindle and spider meters, see our best-value power meters guide.
If you are building up a gravel bike at the same time, our gravel tire pressure guide and gravel tire clearance chart cover the other two questions that come up most.
What we could not confirm
- Whether Garmin's 436 g XC210 weight includes cleats.
- SRM's pricing. SRM's own shop lists $1,499 dual and $1,199 single, but SRM USA's page lists $1,199 and $899. We used SRM's shop.
- Whether current SRM X-Power units charge over micro-USB or USB-C.
- Whether an SRM X-Power owner can swap SPD bindings for SPD-SL ones. SRM's FAQ describes replacing worn bindings with four T10 screws and mentions both SPD and SPDsl bindings, but it does not say that switching between them is supported.
- Real-world battery life. All the hour figures are brand claims.
- Whether the older Rally XC200 is still sold new by Garmin. Retailers and Garmin forum users describe it as discontinued, but we did not find a Garmin statement.
Sources
- Favero: Assioma PRO MX, PRO MX-2 shop page (prices, cleats, road bodies, warranty), PRO MX spare parts, PRO MX comparison sheet, older PRO MX-2 spec page, PRO RS pair of pedal bodies, PRO RL pair of pedal bodies (checked 26 September 2026)
- DC Rainmaker: Favero doubles power meter pedal battery life via firmware update
- Garmin: Rally XC210, Rally XC110, Rally 110/210 press release, Rally 110/210 manual: charging requirements, Rally RS/RK/XC specifications (older models), Pedal Body Conversion Kit (RS/RK $149.99, XC $249.99), Dual-sensing Upgrade Spindle, Rally Charging Adapter (checked 26 September 2026)
- Look: X-Track Power Dual, X-Track Power Single, power accessories: bodies, charger, cable, axles, Left Instrumented Power Axle, Right Instrumented Power Axle (checked 26 September 2026)
- SRM: online shop (USA), X-Power FAQ, SRM USA single-sided page, X-Power manual (2022)
- Shimano: SM-SH51 cleat